1. Database Backup/Restore

Current chapter has the concomitant content:

Database Backup/Restore for Windows version of Store Manager:

1. Database Backup

2. Restore Database

Database Backup/Restore for Magento Store Manager for MAC:

1. Backup Store Database

2. Restore Over Current Database

Maintaining a backup, and, or, restore of your Store Database, is not only a good practice but a real necessity. Backing up the database allows for recovery of lost, or corrupted data, either partially, or totally, in the case of an operating system, software, or hardware failure. It also offers a level of protection for problems due to human mistakes, that can damage, or make the database inoperative, and the data inaccessible.

The backup and recovery Wizard provides facilities for configuring a number of possible database restore scenarios.

Using the Restore Wizard, you may:

- Backup the current Store database,

- Restore over the current database,

- Backup multiple databases.

Database Backup and Restore is accessed through the Tools menu.

1. Database Backup

To perform a Database Backup, open the Database Backup/Restore Wizard:

1. Select Backup current store database.

2. Specify a filename to which to save your DB backup.

3. Select the tables that you wish to backup. If you have chosen Backup entire database, all tables would be checked. In addition, you may manually check, or uncheck them. Subsequently, you may Restore from backup, or Restore default database with initial data, to restore your data to a stable, prior state.

It is also a possible to save only the database structure (tables with no data). You may also select Copy, Create Statements, and the underlying SQL statements will be saved within the backup file.

Important!: Clicking the 'Next >' button, will save the script into the previously selected file.

4. The subsequent page will present an opportunity to preview your changes. If it is necessary to create a backup with different settings, the Wizard may be run again.

finish database backup

2. Database Restore

To Restore a Database, start the 'Database Backup/Restore' Wizard:

1. Select the 'Restore over current database' option, and press 'Next', to proceed.

2. Specify a file for your Database backup, to be Restored from.

3. Preview the script you wish to Restore from. Also, the current database may be cleared, before restoring.

The 'Force Clear DB, before executing' option precludes the possibility that some current database data, not mentioned in the script, might stays as is.

Important! By clicking the 'Next >' Button, you will be starting 'Restore', from the prior file selected.

4. On the following page, you will be able to check, and review, any errors that may have occurred, during script extraction.

Database Backup/Restore for Magento Store Manager for MAC

Database backup/restore section represents the information on the current connection, last backups list and the options for running backup/restore wizard and/or automated backup operation below.

Run backup/restore by clicking on the lower option:

Backup Store Database

Backup database serves for saving your current database in the SQL script separately to avoid loss of data and be able to restore the database structure, if necessary.

Backup/Restore actions can be found in the top menu of Store Manager window in the Tools tab as well:

Select an action from the Welcome page:

You will move to the step where you can select the appropriate tables from the current database which will be saved during backup process.

Use the preset from the drop-down list:

By helping with the option for adding you can create your own preset and use it for the selection:

To delete the selected preset - press an option for removal like you can see at the illustration opposite.

The next stage displays the field with the full path to a file which the database backup will be placed in. It is generated automatically using the default location but you can specify your own way as well:

Take into account the field below:

If it is unchecked the only structure of the database will be saved (the tables will be empty). This backup is not suitable (acceptable) for further restoring.

To be able to restore the entire store database mark with the tick the appropriate checkbox before proceed to the next stage.

Select additional data to backup. The hidden form of the Advanced Settings can be expanded clicking on the following sign:

Please take into account, the more data is checked and involved to the backup - the more time will be taken to complete the process.

To return the settings to the default positions helps the corresponding option in the lower side of the current form:

The option to start the backup you can find on the next step:

The upper rows show the progress of the current process and the lower screen - the steps of the backup with the time indication.

The completion of the process shows the 100% mark displayed in the top ribbons of the form:

Press ‘OK’ to close the Wizard. The process of Backup is finished now.

Restore Over Current Database

Select an action in the wizard which you can find at the top Store Manager’s menu:

To start restoring you can by pressing the command from the drop-down list:

The script file with the database backup should be specified in the field on the next step. Use option for browsing the drive system to find necessary path:

Take a note, current field is required and should be filled.

Once it is done you will see the information in the preview screen.

To be able to restore the content of the database not only its structure - check the option at the bottom of the form:

Click on ‘Next’ to proceed.

The following step launches the restoring and monitors the progress of the process in the screen below:

The notification about process completion you will see in the upper ribbon.

The restoring is finished and the wizard can be closed now.

After a database is restored, from a backup file, it will only allow users to access the data that was available, prior to the time that the backup file was created. Any, and all, database changes, made from subsequent points, are lost.

thaBy eMagicOne Inc.